17 February 2012

Mini Review: Yesterday's Gone: Episode 1 by Sean Platt and David Wright

Yesterday's Gone: Episode 1 by Sean Platt & David Wright

Published: 31 July 2011

Pages: 80 (Kindle)

Genre/s: Post-Apocalyptic

Source: Own library

Check it Out: Goodreads ~ Amazon ~ Amazon 


On October 15 at 2:15 a.m. everyone on Earth vanished.
Well, almost everyone.
A scattered few woke alone in a world where there are no rules other than survival... at any cost.

A journalist wanders the horrible reality of an empty New York in search of his wife and son.
A serial killer must hunt in a land where prey is now an endangered species.
A mother shields her young daughter from danger, though every breath fills her with terror.
A bullied teen is thrilled to find everyone gone. Until the knock at the door.
A fugitive survives a fiery plane crash. Will he be redeemed, or return to what he’s best at: the kill?
An eight year old boy sets out on a journey to find his missing family. What he finds will change him forever.

These survivors aren’t alone...
Someone or something is watching them.
And waiting...

Strangers unite.
Sides are chosen.
Will humanity survive what it never saw coming?
The only certainty is that Yesterday’s Gone.

My Thoughts

What would you do if you woke up one morning to find your family had disappeared? Assume they have gone out to hit the shops, visit the neighbours, take the dog for a walk? And then you realise that your whole apartment building is empty…

This is the situation that faces a bunch of ‘survivors’ in Yesterday’s Gone: Episode 1. What do you do, where do you go, how do you find out what happened?

Yesterday’s Gone: Episode 1 reads like the first episode of ‘Lost’, and although there is some action, the main focus is on introducing the varied characters and setting the scene, both of which are done very well. There is some freaky kinda stuff going on, but it’s written in a way that kept me reading rather than scratching my head in confusion.

Yesterday’s Gone: Episode 1 is part of a serial that has been gradually released by the authors, and is also available in a ‘Series’ format. I will be reading the rest of Series One (Episodes 1:6) over the next few weeks.  Therefore my rating will only be at the end of Series One - but I really enjoyed this and am looking forward to reading more!

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...